jump to navigation

Jumping on the Batwagon July 25, 2008

Posted by Sarah in random.
Tags:
trackback

I went to see The Dark Knight yesterday so now I’m finally going to allow myself to read what everyone else has said about it. It’s an awesome film, and proof that big summer blockbusters don’t need to be crap. It’s got the great stunt, effects, the romance, but also a lot of depth, darkness, and the writing is great.

The BBC’s take on the acting performances is interesting: that Christian Bale’s Bruce/Batman performance overshadows Heath Ledger’s Joker, as the latter is more of a one-dimensional character. The journo reckons that Ledger’s Joker is only as brilliant as it is because of Batman’s nuance and depth. I don’t know which performance I thought was better as such but it’s undoubtedly true that the characters need each other to make it work – and the Joker explicitly says just that in the film. There probably is a good chance that Ledger will win an Oscar for Dark Knight and I just hope that Christian Bale receives the same kind of acclaim.

I’m a big fan of Chris Nolan’s films. I went to the same university as him, albeit a bit later on, and he’s definitely the coolest UCL alumnus ever in my book!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

