jump to navigation

Are you a doctor or a woman? July 28, 2008

Posted by Sarah in random, women.
Tags:
trackback

In today’s Guardian, Anna Tims talks about the most extreme stories of bad customer service that she’s heard of in her column Dear Anna. I love stories like this, and writing angry letters to companies that provided me with bad service is one of my favourite pastimes. And this story here combines two of my pet annoyances, bad service and disrespect to women:

Or Airtours, which gave Dr Joanna Smith a sex change on her travel documents because its computers would only recognise a doctor as male. If she wanted to return to her usual gender, she would have to travel as Mrs.

Wonderful! I would have had a field day taking them on if this had happened to me. Some airlines have come up with very awkward solutions – I’ve noticed that I’m sometimes listed as MsDr on plane tickets. Can they not come up with something more elegant?

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

