jump to navigation

An Early Universe 101 December 23, 2008

Posted by Sarah in science.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

I’ve been learning a bit recently about dark matter, dark energy and the history of the Universe, which are all fascinating. Mark over on Cosmic Variance has writted this interesting post on preheating in the early Universe. This proposed phenomenon has important consequences for the formation theory of dark matter, amongst other things.

While I’m on the topic, one of the best books I read this year was The Inflationary Universe by Alan Guth. I admit I don’t read as many popular science books as I should, and I finish even fewer – but this one is a cracker. Guth builds an excellent story about how he arrived at the theory, in collaboration and in conflict with other scientists around the world. It’s a fascinating account of a great scientific discovery, told in such an anecdotal style that it’s super easy to read. It’s completely rekindled my interest in fundamental physics and cosmology, which explains some recent posts (here, or here) on the topic 🙂

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

